Faculty Executive Committee

Denise Smith (chair), Greg Gerbi, and Gordon Thompson (scribe)

Committee of Committees, 19 May 2017 meeting minutes

- Cindy Evans (CIGU), Tim Harper (IPPC), Marta Brunner (CEPP), Erica Bastress-Dukehart (CEPP), Jeremy Day-O'Conner (CC), Josh Ness (CAFR), Rachel Roe-Dale (FDC), Pat Fehling (CAPT)
- 1. Denise Smith welcomed the committee chairs and reminded them of the purpose of the meeting: commenting on the relationship between faculty and all-college committees and the administration.
- 2. Denise Smith for the Faculty Executive Committee
 - a. FEC conducted elections, appointments, and replacements for 46 faculty positions on committees with diversity and inclusion in mind.
 - b. Focused on the implementation of our new system through a clear and easy process.
 - c. FEC has had a good working relationship with the administration.
- 3. Pat Fehling for the Committee on Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure
 - a. CAPT has had a good working relationship with the Dean of the Faculty and the Associate Dean of the Faculty (Crystal Moore).
 - b. CAPT is considering how to manage the consequences of the college's recent hires with 13, 16, and 18 candidate cohorts scheduled for tenure consideration in the next few years.
 - i. CAPT has adjusted its calendar to accommodate the case load by moving its reporting from November to January.
 - 1. CAPT recognizes that this change will have an impact on the Tenure Review Board.
 - ii. CAPT will approach department chairs about the idea of expanding the membership of CAPT so that an odd number of faculty will decide cases and divide t the rall that an

- 4. Tim Harper for the Institutional Policies and Planning Committee
 - a. TH reports a good working relationship with the administration.
 - b. IPPC has been focused on the CIS, the Social Justice Center, the Strategic Action Plan, investment, and campus building.
 - c. TH expects that a smoking policy will be on the coming year's agenda.
 - d. Jim Kennelly or Grace Burton will serve as the new chair.
- 5. Erica Bastress-Dukehart for the Committee on Educational Policies and Planning
 - a. CEPP has been focused on the passing of a new curriculum.
 - b. Marta Brunning will serve as co-chair in 2017-18.
 - c. CEPP's agenda for the coming year will include the implementation of the new curriculum, including the identification of stakeholder groups.
- 6. Jeremy Day-O'Conner for the Curriculum Committee
 - a. CC reports a good working relationship with the administration, including the introduction of Ron Seyb as the new Associate Dean of the Faculty for academics.
 - b. Anticipates the implementation of CEPP's new curriculum.
- 7. Cindy Evans for Committee on Intercultural and Global Understanding
 - а.

- i. Discussions with previous chairs reveal different models and a lack of consistency.
 - 1. At times, CAFR met with the BoT with administrators present.
 - 2. For a period, CAFR met with the BoT without administrators present.
 - 3. Since 2012-13, CAFR has met with the BoT, but with the President present.
- ii. Can we make CAFR's interactions with the BoT more transparent?
 - 1. Currently, CAFR meets with the entire board rather than with a subcommittee, as has been the case in the past.
- iii. Josh Ness will continue as chair.
- 9. Rachel Roe-Dale for the Faculty Development Committee
 - a. The FDC reports a good relationship with the administration with the DoF's office sometimes helping with additional funds.
 - b. Concerned that with larger cohorts of junior faculty there will be more demands